26
Oct
09

Some (well quite a few) years ago the BIL and Sis traveled around Australia, before they left I gave her a pocket knife and him a fixed blade knife. Which has been returned for sharpening. I get that job a lot.

It’s not overly large but big enough for jobs it was expected to do. I did make some changes to it though.

The notch at the base of the blade (yes I need to clean it up, the trip caught me by surprise) helps with sharpening, all to easy for this spot to get thick and blunt, and the grooves on top provide a grip for the thumb. The handle is Dymondwood or similar which is merely thin wood sections glued together with resin under pressure, looks nice and lasts well. The false edge remains unsharpened for legal reasons ie the knife would be illegal to possess.

Finally getting on top of this damned cold.

7 Responses to “”


  1. 1 FKNBarnesm
    October 26, 2009 at 9:08 am

    Now THAT’s a knife

  2. 2 bangarrr
    October 26, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Barnes it is a little bowie but sharpening the false edge would make it more practical. Ala the first slash (OK implied they cut away … pun intended)

  3. 3 yankeedog
    October 27, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Now there’s a knife that’s made for working or using ’round the campsite. Nice basic Mk1 Mod0 blade, nothing fancy, looks solid.

    Which reminds me-your thoughts on Swiss Army knives? I inherited one with all of the bells and whistles-and it takes 15 minutes to find the right tool I want (which never works all that well). They seem to be more for show than for work. Give me a decent Leatherman any day.

    On another topic, did you get new email? If you would, shoot me an email because the optusnet one doesn’t work for me.

  4. 4 bangarrr
    October 27, 2009 at 3:06 am

    I haven’t really used Swiss Army knives but I’m with you a good multi tool is a wonder. The other BIL is checking out a Gerber I bought at the moment.

  5. October 28, 2009 at 8:07 am

    Dammit Barnes did the only line I could come up with.

  6. 6 bangarrr
    October 28, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Doc a man of your talents? Some suggestions,

    It’s not the knife it’s the motions.

    Someone is seriously overcompensating, exclamation mark by choice.

    Nice knife Mr.Burton, goodbye Mr. Burton.

    Sharp and shiny.

    A knife at a gun fight can only feature as a finishing act.

    Always trying to help, Bangar.

  7. 7 Therbs
    October 29, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Now you stole my lines! Not really. Nice gear.


Leave a Reply

