30
Nov
09

New Gear

Well I picked the mill up last week and ran into a little problem the crane hoist I’d ordered hadn’t come in yet and so the mill sat in the trailer. I picked the hoist up today and then used it to pick up the mill.

Then I moved the trailer out from underneath, lowered the mill and moved it to where it was going.

Tomorrow I pick up the base and finish installing it.

10 Responses to “New Gear”


  1. 1 Nautilus
    November 30, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Looks very cool. I have no idea what it is or how it works but it looks very cool.

  2. 2 bangarrr
    December 1, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Thanks Naut, basically, the work piece is held on the table (clamped down or in a vice) and the cutting tool rotates and then shapes the workpiece whether it be a hole, a slot or removing material.

  3. 3 yankeedog
    December 2, 2009 at 2:08 am

    That is by far the newest and cleanest milling machine I’ve seen. The other places I’ve worked at had-no joke-machines that were stamped ‘U.S. NAVY’ on the side and were likely old when Korea was news. Still worked like champs, though.

    What size motor is that? Looks sizable.

  4. 4 bangarrr
    December 2, 2009 at 5:19 am

    Part of the reason for the new is the government’s tax bonus, that and the light work I have planned for it, it’ll outlast me. A lot to be said for the old machinery it was built to last. YDog that there is a 2HP motor, plenty of grunt on tap.

  5. 5 yankeedog
    December 2, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    110v (or whatever household current is down there)? Or do you have 220v in the shed?

    Too true on the old machines. I’ve seen a lot of them-massive cast frames and power to boot. About the only thing I’ve seen on those beasts are new contactors and overloads to replace the giant-sized ones that were standard 60-70 years ago.

    Actually, we installed a lot of the big Allen-Bradley reversing contactors on units we built at my previous job. Big as shoeboxes but proven. A lot of mills here still use that old gear.

  6. 6 bangarrr
    December 2, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    YDog, our supply down here is 230V single phase, 415V three phase. I only have a single phase supply underground so anything three phase will have to run off an inverter. Though the power cross slide is 110V so they’d better sort that out.

  7. 7 bangarrr
    December 2, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    And it’s on it’s way back. No 110V socket for the power cross slide, I get to swap it for an assembled unit, they did offer to send a courier just I have no hope of unloading/loading a one tonner with the crane.

  8. 8 yankeedog
    December 3, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Now I’m sorry I brought up the voltage question!

  9. 9 bangarrr
    December 3, 2009 at 5:42 am

    No problems just finished unloading it, though I still need to go back and get the stand as I had to rush to get the trailer back and avoid the rain.

  10. 10 bangarrr
    December 4, 2009 at 5:36 am

    And I now have a mill!


Leave a Reply

