12
Jan
10

Non Smoking

It’s a vice I never picked up (sorry full load already), but when I worked with/for Bossman it was a smoker’s workplace, fear of  litigation eventually limited it to work hours. My response was a fresh air break when they downed tools for a fag, in the workshop spray contact cleaner (a flammable aerosol) at them when they decided to smoke inside and when we had a counter attack (lunch at the pub) pointing out if they indulged their habit I’d indulge mine of checking  just how sharp I’d gotten my knife.

Currently I like having a counter at the Crown and have learnt to move all the ash trays down the balcony so when a smoker comes out they move downwind, so far no issues there.

http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/society-and-culture/time-to-end-smoking-break-exceptionalism-20100112-m3kf.html

5 Responses to “Non Smoking”


  1. 1 Moko
    January 12, 2010 at 10:31 am

    What used to shit me was having a boss that smoked – I quit 3 or so years back – who’d get all stroppy if you took a breather but it was okay for him to take 3 5 minute breaks for a smoke every hour.

  2. 2 bangarrr
    January 12, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Moko, my work ethic hasn’t changed I still work through lunch. Back then I’d work though lunch and not get paid for it while others had their ciggie breaks, hence in time they stopped so did I.

  3. 3 yankeedog
    January 12, 2010 at 11:35 am

    It’s hard to find a place one can smoke in public, either in Iowa or in Illinois-certainly one can’t light up in the workplace. I’m glad for no smoking in restaurants. I still am of the opinion that allowing smoking should be ‘owner’s discretion’ in bars, though.

  4. 4 Barnesm
    January 12, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    Are we all so desperate for the minutes each day the smokers work, will the wheels of industry really collapse if they take the time. I’m a non smoker but other workers taking such a break never bothered me.

  5. 5 bangarrr
    January 12, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    YDog my main objection to smoking is having to breathe it, when I was in Germany I’d visit a bar called Casablanca after training for a couple of quiet ones. If I went back later it was very unpleasant due to the smoke layer, you could actually see the place filling up with smoke.

    Barnes, I think everyone should get a couple of microbreaks, but smokers shouldn’t be able to go I have an addiction give me special treatment.


Leave a Reply

