14
Mar
10

Out of Practice

Well I’ve finally got back to knife throwing after a year off, it really is something that needs to be kept up. Part of the reason has been a lack of time and a desire to keep holes out of things that don’t need them. So starting up slow (ie close) outside.

I’ve also been watching Spartacus, it shows promise though I’m not convinced of the two swords usage, smacks of cool idea. I’ll have to drag some blades out and think it through. Basically my thoughts for the moment with two swords of equal length you square up to an opponent or have a blade with reduced reach. Square up and you increase the target area, don’t and a shorter blade works better in defence ie main gauche. Then again I’ve never played with a shield.

3 Responses to “Out of Practice”


  1. March 14, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Just get a gun son….better yet get a real big one. (Sorry, too early in the morning for sane thought.)

  2. 2 yankeedog
    March 15, 2010 at 2:23 am

    Never thrown knives, but it looks like something one would have to practice fairly regularly. You have a good throwing knife, I take it?

    I’d think you’d want a short and a long blade. If a two long-sword approach was all that effective, some mob in antiquity would have outfitted their soldiery with two swords each. Most people only have one dominant hand and I gotta believe that would affect the way they’d use their cutlery. Now a sword and a mace or dagger or some such makes sense to me.

  3. 3 bangarrr
    March 15, 2010 at 6:26 am

    DD,I let the firearms license lapse have to go get it again.

    YDog, throwing knives here! Certainly not that requires special permissions. I throw daggers (better practice with multiple knives)for practice. Them I’m allowed as a collector. That’s pretty much my thoughts, wielding two identical weapons I blame on the Drow.


Leave a Reply

