22
Sep
10

New(ish) Car

Well I’ve picked it up, an ’01 silver Commodore wagon. Monday the gas gets fitted and I’ll change over from the Ford and start saving some of the money I spend on petrol.  A few things the Holden engine seems a bit more responsive than the Ford, the fuel filler is the opposite side, I’ll need an FM transmitter and I’ve a reversing sensor that I didn’t know about.

20 Responses to “New(ish) Car”


  1. September 22, 2010 at 7:16 am

    I wanted a Holden. A red one. The Boss ignored my pleas, and instead bought a blue Ford wagon. I hated that car from the moment he bought it. Not because it wasn’t attractive. (it was). Not because it was mechanically unsound (it wasn’t). I hated the Ford because it wasn’t a Holden. (A red one).

    A few months ago, we had to replace the Ford. Finally! After 8 years! I was going to get my red Holden. Or so I thought. But I left it up to the Boss, didn’t I?

    We now have a white Kia Kiddybus. I hated it from the moment he bought it home until the middle of the next day. It was weird – like falling in love with the ugliest puppy in the litter – but I quickly realised that the Kia was a lot of fun to drive. And there are enough seats for the whole family – we can finally travel together! Oh, joy! (Are we there yet?) Now all I need to do is con the Boss into painting it red, and maybe I won’t crave the Holden any more. Maybe.

    Have fun with your Holden, Bangar. You have good taste.

  2. September 22, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Commode wagons >>>> Foulcan wagons by a long shot, mainly cos of the lack of cart springs in the back. New Sportwagons look ace of aces. Mind you I’ve got a new Mondeo wagon for work and I actually prefer it marginally over the 3L SIDI Commodore sedan rental I was driving in Sydney last week. Makes a much prettier noise though, the Holden. Mates have got the wagon.

  3. September 22, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Buddy after driving a 92 VP dunnydoor around for ten years I know drive a Ford Forte AU 2000 model. It feels like I’m driving a cab. Bit taily as I discovered in the wet the other day. I might need a dead politician in the back to address the power to weight ratio.

  4. September 22, 2010 at 7:59 am

    *now* drive NOT know…far out. My homophones are in a dither.

  5. 5 Barnesm
    September 22, 2010 at 8:36 am

    Sweet ride

  6. 6 bangarrr
    September 22, 2010 at 8:43 am

    CC needs must as the devil drives, at least you like this one.

    Doc, definitely. If the budget (or I was willing to go into debt for a car) had stretched the sportswagon would be it but by the time you have V8,LPG and upmarket way too much.

    Nat, My Ford was ’02 still drives really nice. It’s only being let go due to klms and no LPG.

  7. 7 bangarrr
    September 22, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Barnes, if it’s as good as the Ford I’ll be happy but it looks good drives well and I bought it from a dealer I’ve known for a long time.

  8. 8 yankeedog
    September 22, 2010 at 10:46 am

    I missed something here-are you converting that Pontiac, excuse me, Holden, to run something other than petrol? Is that common there? I believe our Postal Service vehicles run on compressed natural gas here.

  9. 9 bangarrr
    September 22, 2010 at 11:22 am

    Sorry YDog LPG, liquefied petroleum gas shipped over seas for bugger all. So we pay a bit under half the price per litre of petrol.

  10. September 22, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    YDog running cars (particularly big Holdens and Fords) on LPG is reasonably common in Aust and NZ – you’ll struggle to find a taxi in one of the big capital cities which isn’t a Falcon or Commodore running LPG. Gets significantly worse fuel economy and tank size but the price is far less – currently something like 60c per litre vs $1.20 for petrol in Sydney as of last week – so net financial positive. The Aust govt has been pushing the LPG angle (were giving rebates for people to convert their cars or buy dual-fuel capable cars) as we have control over the LPG market given the size of the Australian LPG resource base vs mid-east sourced petrol.

  11. September 22, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    What’s the klicks per 100 k’s for LPG versus petrol?

  12. 13 bangarrr
    September 23, 2010 at 1:18 am

    I’ll let you know.

  13. 14 Nautilus
    September 23, 2010 at 4:47 am

    The RACV used to do good regular payback calculations on LPG for a number of models.

    The bottom line was, you need to be doing at least 30,000km a year for it to pay for itself in a respectable time frame. The more kms you do, the more it’s worth it.

  14. September 23, 2010 at 7:48 am

    Moko I think it’s roughly a third worse off in terms of economy, depending on city vs country usage.

  15. 16 bangarrr
    September 23, 2010 at 8:58 am

    Naut I do 30+ easy.

    Doc I’ll have to find out as I’ve had a HQ ute on gas and a HJ statesman but a long time ago. Newer cars and I don’t know if LPG tech has changed.

  16. 17 yankeedog
    September 23, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I see. For half-price fuel I’d convert too.

    I’m a bit surprised there aren’t more natural gas vehicles here-I’m told we’re sitting on about 200+ years of the stuff. Well, given the entrenchment of the gasoline establishment, perhaps I’m not that surprised.

  17. 18 Therbs
    September 24, 2010 at 4:37 am

    Always a fun thing getting a new car. I’ll be ditching my 98 ‘dore within the next 6 months as I’m just not driving it enough any more to justify the big six. The LPG conversion is a smart move. The standard Commodore 6’s do seem a tad more sprightly than the Falcons.

    YD – a lot of people who drive their cars for work, particularly trades, get it done. They can also defray some of the conversion costs through tax.

  18. 19 drej08
    September 28, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Normally I’d be the lone dissenter here, ie shouldaboughtaFord… but given the 2001 version would have been an AU, I fully understand. Hope you get a good run from her.

  19. 20 bangarrr
    September 28, 2010 at 10:40 am

    Drej, I can’t disparage the Ford, she’s been a good ride. So far the Holden impresses.


Leave a Reply

