11
Dec
10

A Special Brew

Occasionally I’ll make a special bourbon. Higher alcohol and left to age for at least six months if not longer. First you have improved water.

Then I add some wood, in this case I’ve used large chunks that have come from bourbon barrels and toasted American oak.

Just leaving the wood in there colours and flavours the Not Water.

Then I add bourbon flavouring and water to top off the jar.

Now I wait.

10 Responses to “A Special Brew”


  1. 2 yankeedog
    December 12, 2010 at 5:13 am

    Of course you need the charred part of the barrel wood-that’s what gives bourbon its flavor. For only six months of aging, I reckon you’d need a flavor boost. Most of the good bourbons age for several years-but who has the patience to wait until 2017?

    It’d be interesting to try your recipe.

  2. 3 bangarrr
    December 12, 2010 at 6:29 am

    Naut, I hope I say that when tasting time comes.

    YDog, My thinking as well hence the flavouring. Also as chunks you get a greater surface area to liquid ratio than a barrel. Recipe is easy, don’t know about supplies out your way though.

  3. 5 bangarrr
    December 12, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Mokes, I think it will be, though hair on the chest is a strong possibility.

  4. 6 barnesm
    December 12, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    ‘Improved water’ I love it.

  5. 7 bangarrr
    December 13, 2010 at 8:27 am

    It’s open for theft 😉

  6. December 14, 2010 at 1:04 am

    The Boss brews special water, then adds flavouring essences from the brewers shop. Then he drinks the flavoured special water, and falls over. Does your recipe cause falling over? I’m getting sick of him whining about his bruises. At least, I think that’s why he keeps clutching his skull and saying ‘owwwwww’.

  7. 9 bangarrr
    December 14, 2010 at 5:49 am

    CC, I believe he’s using the wrong dose.

  8. 10 Therbs
    December 21, 2010 at 6:12 am

    I prefer improved water to heavy water any day. I’m impressed with your dedication to the gentlemanly art of adding flavour to water to improve its taste and health giving properties. Well done.


Leave a Reply

