30
Oct
11

I Have Mail

I finally got it.

A chainmaille vest. Stainless steel, 5/32 welded rings and weighs about 3Kg. I saved on shipping but paid for that in the delay in getting it. It’s the largest size they have and I think I could have dropped the size a little, but if you get it wrong there’s no give and it won’t fit without inserting more rings.

11 Responses to “I Have Mail”


  1. October 30, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Did you get that to wear to the Melbourne Cup?

    Would look fetching with black lingerie…

  2. 2 bangarrr
    October 30, 2011 at 7:12 am

    as fetching as that image is … not my look.

  3. 3 Rhino
    October 30, 2011 at 11:52 am

    That is Teh Awesome! I need one.

  4. October 30, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    If that’s for the Spring Racing Carnival – would love to see the fascinator that goes with that

  5. 5 bangarrr
    October 30, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Rhino, http://www.theringlord.com/ though not sure if they have Rhino as a standard size!

    Doc so would I, just how would you fancy up a coif?

  6. 6 barnesm
    October 30, 2011 at 9:36 pm

    3Kgs seems very light for that much chain, thats good work. plus it will prevent sharks biting you if you wear it swimming

  7. 7 bangarrr
    October 31, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Because the weight hangs from the shoulders (you normally wear a broad belt to help) it feels more. But it’s lots of small rings, their strength being that they are solid, so no rivet to fail or being able to force the ring back open. I have spare cut rings and I wouldn’t trust them against a thrust and it may be possible to open them with a slash.

    Maille is armour against slashing attacks but will help somewhat against thrusts … if the rings hold.

  8. November 11, 2011 at 7:52 am

    I’m positive I saw a Hollywood starlet wearing that same dress on the red carpet at the Oscars. It was obvious she wasn’t wearing undergarments. I sincerely hope you wear reggies under yours, Bangar.

  9. November 11, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Aunty Q and it will stay that way, stainless ftw

    CC, typically padding was worn underneath.

  10. November 13, 2011 at 2:33 am

    Bangar, you put padding in your reggies? Oh, too much information!


Leave a Reply

