18
Nov
14

News

Well I’ve been to the neurologist, odds are good that I have Parkinsons and if I don’t it’s worse news. So tomorrow blood test, start taking more drugs (one of the ways to prove the condition is response to medication) and book an MRI scan. Then Christmas Eve I go back and see what the news is. In the meantime seriously cut back on the grog so that I do have alcohol free days, this going to be a pain as drinking is one of my few pleasures. So tonight is my first AFD for some months, so I’ll be having more of them. The hand tremor appears to be more alcohol related than Parkinsons but it doesn’t stop when I drink so we’ll see. The Doctor said to expect seven good years, seven so-so years and then it’s bad I don’t want bad.

At the moment I’m keeping it quiet, there’s nothing any one else can do so I’ll hide my symptoms as best I can and if the drugs work that’ll help. So I’ve had symptoms I can point to as major indicators for at least year (yeah I figure that’s going to cut into my seven good years) and the foot and knee pain which I blamed on gout for years is more likely the Parkinsons. So no news is truly good news

6 Responses to “News”


  1. 1 savo
    November 18, 2014 at 11:06 am

    Man that truly sucks. You ARE in good company though and with the celebrity endorsements and associated donations you can never known what’s just round the corner. stem cell therapy, better meds, hell even ecstasy might have a positive affect on it, tho I can’t endorse use of prohibited drug. Tetrahydrocannabinol is getting finding more medical use. Who knows. Hang tough.
    Bummer about the booze though 💃.

  2. 2 bangarrr
    November 18, 2014 at 8:16 pm

    Thanks mate, I haven’t given up just accepted what is is. Nice to see you’re still around you’re missed.

  3. 3 Anonymous
    November 19, 2014 at 4:23 am

    too much work, then too many holidays, I recently took a little vacation courtesy of a heart attack. That was a surprise to all concerned. I don’t know if my Dr or my wife were more surprised, the Dr cos he knows I have perfect blood pressure, average cholesterol, I’m fit and healthy or my wife who had convinced herself years ago that I didn’t actually have one. Alls well though. No one has bothered to tell me to lay off the booze or the coffee so all is well. :o)

  4. 4 bangarrr
    November 19, 2014 at 7:14 am

    Shit, I do hope you’re well on the way to recovery take care of yourself and take more holidays!

  5. 6 bangarrr
    November 20, 2014 at 12:12 am

    Thanks Barnes, much appreciated.


Leave a Reply

